One Health Approach to Zoonoses Research and Innovation

Deadline: 15 December 2021

The International Coordination of Research on Infectious Animal Diseases (ICRAD), an ERA-Net under Horizon 2020 (Grant Agreement NR.862605), has announced its second call for proposals on a 'One Health Approach to Zoonoses Research and Innovation'.

The overall goal of this ICRAD call is to support cross-cutting research and innovation to better understand zoonoses focusing on the animal-human-environment interface and by developing novel vaccine and diagnostics technology platforms to improve animal health and by consequence animal welfare.

The objective of this funding call is to increase preparedness and improve the ability to respond to (re)-emerging zoonotic disease threats and contribute to improved animal and public health. This will be done through studies focusing on (re)-emergence of pathogens with zoonotic potential, understanding animal host-pathogen interactions and the immune response, and by developing detection and prevention platforms. Proposals should include research on one of the following topics:

  • Research area 1: Improved understanding of animal-human-environment interface
    • Pathogen (Re)-Emergence and Host Adaptation
    • Host/Pathogen Interactions
  • Research area 2: Detection and Prevention
    • Vaccine Technology Platforms
    • Diagnostic Technology Platforms

The research funded through this call is to improve health of livestock, therefore, research that mainly focuses on the below are not in scope of the call and are excluded:

  • improving human health
  • AMR
  • companion animals
  • climate/ecology/environment
  • food-borne pathogens
  • animal welfare

The Joint Call 2021 follows a two-stage procedure with a first deadline for the submission of pre-proposals on 15 December 2021 at 3pm (CET).


In this call, ICRAD expects proposals for collaborative research, development and innovation from transnational consortia composed of members from at least three different countries with a maximum of eight (including associated countries), with no more than two partners from one country. National and regional eligibility rules must be followed. They will be published together with the full call announcement on 1 October 2021 at


A webinar to introduce the call took place on 8 October 2021. The webinar covered:

  1. Call timeline
  2. Introduction to the Joint Call
  3. Important conditions and requirements (eligibility, participating countries and proposal outline)
  4. How to submit a proposal via the submission tool
  5. Evaluation of proposals
  6. Q&A

The slides from the webinar are available to download from the ICRAD website.