IVVN webinar: Catalysing elimination of dog-mediated human rabies by 2030 in Africa

27 January 2021
Online

We are excited to invite you to a webinar at 12:00 pm GMT on Wednesday 27 January 2021. This webinar will be given by Dr Thumbi Mwangi. The webinar will be delivered on an online platform and a recording will be posted on our website after the event. The webinar is free to attend, but places are limited, so please register here.

Abstract

Rabies causes an estimated 25,000 human deaths in Africa annually. The domestic dog is the primary reservoir of the rabies virus transmitting more than 99% of the human cases. Each rabies death is vaccine-preventable and a global target for elimination of human deaths due to rabies has been set for 2030. The feasibility of this goal is supported by the existence of effective rabies vaccines for dogs and humans, epidemiological characteristics of the disease that support elimination, and evidence of elimination success across regions in developed and developing economies. Using experiences from ongoing rabies elimination programs in East Africa, this talk addresses the question of what it will take to eliminate rabies from the continent with a focus on three critical catalysts for a dog-mediated rabies free Africa: a) domestic ownership and commitment to rabies elimination, b) innovations in the delivery of rabies interventions for dog and human rabies, and c) integration of rabies elimination program into national health systems.

Dr Thumbi Mwangi

Portrait of Dr Thumbi Mwangi

Dr Thumbi Mwangi is a Clinical Assistant Professor at the Paul G Allen School for Global Animal Health, Washington State University, a visiting scientist at the University of Nairobi, and a Wellcome Trust Public Health and Tropical Medicine Fellow at the Kenya Medical Research Institute. He attained his PhD in Infectious Disease Epidemiology from the University of Edinburgh (2012) quantifying the burden due to infectious diseases and the consequences of concurrent co-infections with multiple pathogens. Previously he worked on the molecular diagnosis and spatial epidemiology of African Animal trypanosomiasis at the International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI) in Nairobi, as part of his thesis work for the Masters of Science degree in Genetics and Animal breeding (2008) University of Nairobi and holds a Bachelor’s in Veterinary Medicine and Surgery (2005) from the same University. Currently, Thumbi Mwangi leads a One-Health research group investigating the zoonotic, socio-economic and nutritional pathways that link animal health to human health and welfare.He is actively involved in post-graduate education supervising several Masters and PhD students in local and international universities, and has received several awards including the 2016 Aspen Institute New Voices fellowship, 2016 Kenya’s top 40 under 40 for his contribution towards rabies elimination in Kenya, 2015 Kenya Research Veterinarian of the Year Award, 2015 Outstanding Research Article Award by the International Society for Disease Surveillance among others.

Time zone conversion

  • New York/Toronto: 08:00 am
  • Buenos Aires/São Paulo: 09:00 am
  • London/Lagos: 1:00 pm
  • Cape Town: 2:00 pm
  • Addis Ababa/Nairobi/Tel Aviv: 3:00 pm
  • Mumbai: 5:30 pm
  • Manila: 8:00 pm
  • Sydney/Melbourne: 10:00 pm
  • More
webinars ivvn virtual events